Jojis “Nectar” album review

George Kusunoki Miller, stage name “Joji” came out with a new album back in late September 2020. The album name is “Nectar”, it has 18 tracks and is 54 min and 14 sec long. The tracks include: 

  1. Ew (3:28)
  2. MODUS (3:28)
  3. Tick Tock (2:13)
  4. Daylight (2:44)
  5. Upgrade (1:30)
  6. Gimme Love (3:35)
  7. Run (3:15)
  8. Sanctuary (3:01)
  9. High Hopes (3:03)
  10. NITROUS (2:12)
  11. Pretty Boy (2:37)
  12. Normal People (2:47)
  13. Afterthought (3:15)
  14. Mr. Hollywood (3:23)
  15. 777 (3:02)
  16. Reanimator (3:04)
  17. Like You Do (4:01)
  18. Your man (2:44)


Joji has not come out saying what his album is about but my view on it is that it’s about his journey of becoming famous. He started off as a youtuber comedian “Filthy Frank” moving on to some of his songs becoming popular on apps such as tiktok and instagram. He then began to gain a bigger following and the last 2-3 songs I can imagine being about love or heartbreak. We see his 15th track is 777, which is an angel number meaning that you’re on the right path of following your guardian angels.  My personal favorite is “Like You Do” the theme being about losing the one person who loved you most. The song is a beautiful slow tuned working on mainly vocals and keys. I’ve been a fan of Jojis for a long time and yet I still can’t seem to fully understand the meaning behind his songs.